International Primary Curriculum

Here at Shaftesbury Park Primary School, we follow the innovative International Primary Curriculum for our foundation subjects, science, history, geography, music, art, technology and PE. This is a comprehensive, thematic, creative curriculum which has been designed to promote international mindedness alongside personal learning whilst meeting the demands of the English National Curriculum.

Teaching is based on topics which connect all areas of the curriculum in a way that makes learning not only interesting but also extremely relevant. It is designed to help children:

  • Learn the essential knowledge, skills and understanding of a broad range of curriculum subjects.
  • Engage with their learning so that they remain committed to learning throughout their school careers and beyond.
  • Develop the personal qualities they need to be good citizens in an ever-changing world.
  • Develop a sense of their own nationality and culture at the same time as developing a profound respect for the nationalities and cultures of others.

Wherever possible the International primary curriculum also links in to literacy and maths, allowing pupils further opportunities to consolidate their key skills in these areas.

Structure of the IPC

The IPC is split into the following three two-year phases. During each phase, pupils study a variety of exciting themed units selected by the school to ensure full coverage in each subject by the end of that phase. Wherever possible the learning focuses on an international perspective.

Each unit focuses on one subject (e.g. History) to a greater degree with all other subjects covered to a lesser degree and begins with an ‘entry point’ activity to capture the pupils’ interest and imagination.  Learning episodes throughout the unit, taken from different areas of the curriculum, help the children to understand more each unit. Each unit culminates in a fun ‘exit point’ activity which children will have been working towards.

Please click on the links below for more information on the units covered during each phase and the learning covered under each subject.

Key Stage 1

Lower Key Stage 2 Upper Key Stage 2
Years 1 & 2 Years 3 & 4

Years 5 & 6